h1

Blog – Activate!

Monday, 11 February, 2008

This blog entry marks the beginning of the Human Enhancement and Biopolitics Blog. I created this blog with the intention to make public my comments and opinions on the the technologies of human enhancement and the public opinions and policies that regulate their development.

By human enhancement, I only mean those changes to the human body that are considered enhancements by the brain within that body (or, to an extent, the parents of that body).  I say this because the term ‘human enhancement’ can have a negative tone to it, implies a eugenic conformity to an ‘optimum’ state of being.  I support personal liberty and freedom of choice, and I assume that most people will use emerging technologies to change themselves (or their children) to something they see as ‘better’. This is how I define human enhancement. So, I will be blogging about any technology or speculative technology that can be used in such a way.

In addition, I intend to comment on the public perceptions of these technologies. I feel it is important to ensure the public is well informed about science, and the way in which science affects our lives. Therefore, I will be blogging about any significant public policy changes that could affect the development of these technologies, and any significant technologies that could affect public opinion (and hence, in democratic societies, affect public policy). I shall also give my opinion on these changes.

So, that’s the intention of the blog. We’ll see how long I can keep it going.

2 comments

  1. Hi, good luck, I’m subscribed… one small suggestion. It might be better having your entire posts display on one page, so everyone doesn’t have to click “read the rest of this entry” for every post while skimming.

    Thanks for the link, also.


  2. Sorry. I only worked out how to do that last night, so I went a little overboard.



Leave a Reply

